Olympia – Commissioners from three public utility districts, including Lewis County PUD, assumed top leadership positions for 2018-2019 as the Washington Public Utility Districts Association (WPUDA) announced the election of its new officers. Lewis County PUD Commissioner Dean Dahlin was elected to serve as President; Chelan PUD Commissioner Randy Smith was elected Vice-President after serving a year as Secretary; Skamania County PUD Commissioner Liz Green was elected Secretary; and Lewis County PUD Commissioner Ben Kostick is serving the second year of his third term as Treasurer. Douglas County PUD Commissioner Ron Skagen completed his year of service as President and will now fill the role of Past President on the Association’s Executive Committee.

The officers serve on the Association’s Executive Committee and Board of Directors, providing oversight and recommendations in support of WPUDA’s mission to “support, protect and enhance members’ ability to conserve the power and water resources of the state and to provide not-for-profit, locally-controlled utility services.” The Washington PUD Association represents 27 not-for-profit, community-owned public utility districts and one joint-operating agency, Energy Northwest. WPUDA member PUDs provide electrical, water wastewater, and wholesale telecommunications services to residential, business, and industrial customers in communities across Washington. The officers are elected by the Washington PUD Association Board of Directors made up of representatives from each member utility.

Newly elected WPUDA President, Dean Dahlin is a retired Locomotive Engineer and active weatherman. Commissioner Dahlin has served on the Lewis County PUD Board of Commissioners since January 2013. Dahlin served as the Association’s Secretary and Vice President before being elected President. “It is truly an honor to continue to work in support of Washington’s public utility districts; leaders in clean and affordable energy, safe and reliable water, and reliable wholesale telecommunications services,” said Dahlin.

Vice President Randy Smith moved into the position after having served as Secretary. Smith has served on the Chelan County PUD Board of Commissioners since 2007. New elected Secretary Liz Green began serving on the Skamania PUD Board in 2015. WPUDA Treasurer Ben Kostick has served on the Lewis County PUD Board since 2007 and is serving the last year of his third term as Treasurer.